Cinnamon Sugar Donuts

There’s only a few foods in the world that I just can’t put down once I start eating. Thin mints are one of them. And today, I have discovered one more.

I didn’t expect much from these donuts, but we had the ingredients and the time, so I just whipped up a batch. Holy. Moly. I was immediately addicted. I ate three of them on the way out the door to take a picture of them. (Outside seems to be the only place I can get a decent picture. Now you know my little secret. Sorry that my kitchen is a dungeon.)

Anyway, I should have known it would be good. I mean, butter, sugar, cinnamon, and FRIED? I guess I just wasn’t thinking that deeply 😉

IMG_2420


Cinnamon Sugar Donuts

from Little Bit Funky.

  • 1 package Pillsbury Grands homestyle biscuits
  • 1/2 inch vegetable oil
  • 4 tbsp melted butter
  • Cinnamon-sugar (I didn’t measure anything, just added as I went).
  1. Heat the oil in a frying pan. (The smaller the pan, the less oil you have to use). Oil is the right temperature when you flick water into it, and it sizzles without popping.
  2. Cut holes in the biscuits using a small cookie cutter, or use a straw and stretch the hole a little bit.
  3. Using tongs, dip the dough into the oil, and move it around a bit so it doesn’t stick. Let cook to your desired level of brown-ness (I personally like them a little darker), then flip and let the other side cook.
  4. Let the donuts cool just enough so you can handle them, then dip in the melted butter and into the cinnamon sugar.
  5. Stuff your face while they’re still hot! They’re still good cold, but seriously, you gotta try them hot. IMG_2417 IMG_2419 IMG_2421
One thought on “Cinnamon Sugar Donuts

Leave a Reply

