Pineapple Banana Smoothie

See this little guy? It gave me an allergic reaction. I forgot I’m allergic to pineapple… haha. But mmmm, was it good.FullSizeRender

Well, at least I think it was an allergic reaction. I’ve been trying to figure this out my whole life. I did some research a couple years ago, from which I learned it’s the acid in the pineapple that people are sensitive or allergic to. And I’m pretty sure I’m allergic (or sensitive?) to the acid in it, because when I eat pineapple, my tongue burns and my throat and tongue swell up a little bit, but not enough to cause problems. I don’t get rashes or anything.

Basically, this is a long-winded way of saying, after 20 years, I still have no idea if this is normal or not. So I’m posing a question to you lovely readers. A poll, if you like. Please comment your responses!

Does your tongue hurt/throat swell a little after you eat pineapple? Do you know if this is an allergy or a sensitivity? Or is it just a normal fact of life for all of humanity that I haven’t quite picked up on? I don’t have any other allergies, so I have no way of comparing. 

Anyways, I’ll post the recipe now. From Creme de la Crumb.
Oh, and a side-note: I used a frozen banana, and it was a little too banana-y for me. So if you’re not a fan of yellow Laffy Taffy, use a fresh banana, and maybe start with half and add up.


Pineapple Banana Smoothie

Serves 2

  • 2 cups frozen pineapple
  • 1 frozen banana (start with half and add up, if you’re sensitive about your bananas)
  • 1 cup vanilla yogurt
  • 2.5 cups almond milk
Leave a Reply

