Career Goals

When I was younger, I had very specific career goals. Though I had no experience in dance, artistry, or fossil-digging, I was solid on the idea that one day I would be a dancing-paleontologist-who-paints. Oh, and a mom. “And one day, when I’m a mom, I’m going to buy my daughter that giant lollypop, because I’ll actually love her.” I actually remember telling my own mother that. I also named all my stuffed animals cute names, like Rose and Abby, to get back at her for not naming me something cute. But that’s beside the point.

I’ve grown up to realize that my career goals have not changed all that much. I want to be a psychologist, and a professional chef, and a yoga instructor. A cooking-psychologist-who-yogas. Oh, and a mom. “And one day, when I’m a mom, my kids won’t even know what a lollypop is, because we’re gonna be sooooo healthy.”

I decided I want to be a yoga instructor about 10 days ago. I don’t know when, or how, whowhatwhenwherewhy, but it’s going to happen 🙂

Here is my plan of attack:
1. Figure out how to put my leg behind my head
2. Do a headstand
3. Levitate while I meditate
4. Be a yoga instructor

On a more serious note, I actually really do enjoy yoga. I started a 30-day yoga challenge from Yoga with Adriene, knowing absolutely nothing about yoga. Today I reached the half-way mark, and I just feel the need to shout it from the rooftops!

What I like about this yoga challenge is that it’s perfectly do-able with my schedule. Each video is only 10-30 minutes long, generally on the shorter side. That’s really helped me to be able to get in a habit, knowing I can easily squeeze it into my morning. For me, it’s less about the work-out, and more about starting my day right, getting connected with my body and the earth. (And when I’m done, I get to drink a smoothie 🙂

I highly encourage you all to try it! Just give it thirty days. You don’t need any special equipment or money or clothes. Heck, you could even do it naked! (In the privacy of your own home, of course). You’ll be amazed at how flexible your body can become in just a couple days. Each day holds its own rewards.

So join me on this journey! Feel free to comment and let me know what you decide 😉

Namaste,
Lisa

Leave a Reply

